Winter is coming 

Posted: April 28, 2016 in Cycling
Tags: , , , ,

Along with the season premier of Game of Thrones last weekend Wyoming was warming up quite nice. A trip to Glendo State Park was planned with expected temps 80s and 70s. I arrived Friday afternoon, setup camp, and headed out for a nice short loop of Buffalo Run-Gigawatt-Rattlesnake-Feather-dam road back to camp just in time to meet up with Tim and Barb who were riding there for the first time. 

My dogs met Hazel (their dog) and all was well.  They set up their popup Aliner camper and we relaxed to beers and the awesome setting where we had camp as I described what to expect. Techy uphill rocky power spurts, flowy sections, with fast blind descents.  


The next day we met up with Mike and it was game on. Or rather, time to ride. Honestly, I was out to ride my legs off so it was a tour where I rode hard and then we regrouped. Typical modus operandi for me. That’s how I roll people, so drop it.   We had an awesome 3 hours of riding, mixed with the repair of Mike’s rear wheel that was on the verge of imploding.  finishing back at camp to check on the pups and drink a beer as we ate some chips and salsa. Yeah, I know, awesome way to recover from all that climbing and descending.  FYI, I downed a Hammer recovery and regular bar also. 


Part 2 was sans Mike as he headed back south to Cheyenne. I promised 10 miles and delivered. We rode out to the northern trails. Less techy but not smooth.  Narrows Bluff-Toadstool-back on Narrows to 2015/17. It was super fun.  ~26 miles ridden.  

Dinner, talk, and dog antics ensued. The next days forecast was not good and Tim’s allergies were in hyper drive.  The overnight rain did not help things. 

The next day as I watched  Liege-Bastonge-Liege live on Eurosport, I saw the approaching storm in the distance from my window.  Tim knocked on the door and said basically what I was thinking.  There would be no riding today. Time to pack and head home. 

The day after I parked my truck -Airstream combo in my new garage, I drove my Mini Cooper home in 2″hail with an expected snowfall that night  of several inches.  As I watched episode 1 of GoT’s current season, I recalled the tag line…”Winter is Coming”. Indeed it is here…again.  May it be gone quickly. 

The forecast for Friday is upwards of 12″ locally.  May God have mercy on the Lannisters.

Leave a Reply

