Dakota Five-O

Posted: October 4, 2015 in Cycling, Endurance racing

Dakota 50
I have always wanted to do this race but my season usually hits the rest zone in September. the course is very challenging, with little to no passing opportunities when the singletrack section is reached after the fast road section. I was told that a time under 4:30 is an excellent time and was also told good luck at getting that your first time out. So that was my goal, sub 4:30. I started my race day as usual, nothing to eat, Anti-Fatigue, Endurance Aminos, and Race Caps prior to and an Espresso Hammer Gel at the start. Not wanting to go out too fast and blow up on the +7000′ climbing that I would face over 50 miles, I settled into a pace that I could maintain. Once I hit the singletrack I wished I had had more power to be further up in the queue. Riders in front of me may have had faster legs up the climb to the trail, had nothing in the way of technical skills on tight singletrack climbing and were slowing me down (maybe for the good?). Eventually the path widened and I easily passed everyone on an gradual uphill only to have my spare tube/tools/CO2 strapped to my top tube come flying off on a bump. Stopping to retrieve my stuff I was passed again by everyone but the “slow” rider thank goodness. I was warned by friends that the course has sharp rocks that cause many flats. My eyes got wide a few miles later when I counted no less than 5 riders over 3 miles on the side of the trail changing flats. I paid a little more attention to the trail after that. The course is unrelenting with climb after climb. It was about mile 30 where I started to worry about my goal of finishing. I decided to empty the tanks and upped my pace significantly trying to keep up with a faster rider from wave 2. Eventually the last aid station was reached with Beer and Bacon being available. I declined and opened it up all out on the descents to the finish. The other rider and I were crushing the descent, passing rider after rider before he fumbled on a technical section allowing me to continue on solo passing riders. Looking at my time I knew it was going to be close and held nothing back. I had played my race out perfectly, my Camelbak filled with ~60oz of Strawberry Heed and Perpetuem was nearly empty with 4 miles to go as I hammered my way to the finish. I finished in 4:29:37. Goal accomplished. 20th in age group and 84th out of 575 finishers
Looking forward to next time as the race is so fun and the location Top Notch

Dakota Five-O

Leave a Reply

