Fun last month of the year

Posted: December 26, 2013 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

It’s been an interesting month December.  In Wyoming I’ve always dreaded the “off season”.  Hellacious wind, bitter cold, no desire to ride, early sunsets… you get the point.  But this time is different. 2 important things happened to me.  First, I “discovered” winter riding on trails a 25 min drive away.  They’ve always been there, I just never thought of riding there in the winter.  Second, I got news that Hammer Nutrition has selected me for athlete sponsorship for 2014. My training log (thanks Strava) shows that I am riding 4 days a week at an average of nearly 3 hours each.  This number is steadily going up.  Going back a couple years, I have never logged this much time in December.  Motivation of racing starting in 3 weeks on snow and less than 2 months til 24 Hours in the Old Pueblo probably has something to do with it.  Of course the fun trails isn’t everything (it’s a big part of it though), there is also the new gear.  Wolvhammer boots, Fat Carbon race wheels, lights, and proper winter dressing (thanks Salsa/JayP). Then the added benefit of sponsorship by a company whose products have turned my endurance training and racing around the last few years, Hammer Nutrition.  I can’t say enough good things about them and their products, I was literally a walking Hammer rep without getting paid.  Well I’m not technically getting paid, but they are making it easier financially on my supplement expenses.  If whoever reads this blog wants some advice, I can let you in on my fueling program for long races. Just comment.

Suffice it to say, I now want winter to last forever….Well until late spring, I’d like the Colorado mountains dry during the Colorado Trail Race.

May all your rides be filled with joy and new experiences,

WyoImage

Leave a Reply

